Press "Enter" to skip to content

Shivraj Singh Chouhan takes oath as Madhya Pradesh CM

BJP’s Shivraj Singh Chouhan took oath as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh at 9 pm on March 23, 2020 on the Raj Bhavan in Bhopal. The oath was administered by Governor Lalji Tandon. This can be Shivraj Singh Chouhan’s fourth time period as Chief Minister of the state. 

The swearing-in comes a mere few days after the Kamal Nath-led Congress authorities misplaced its majority within the state. Kamal Nath had resigned from the publish of CM on March 19, forward of the scheduled ground take a look at. 

The swearing-in ceremony was extraordinarily low-key with no main central BJP leaders. It was performed at a brief discover in order that the brand new Chief Minister can take cost as quickly as attainable to place in motion the required measures to sort out the unfold of COVID-19 an infection. 

Who is Shivraj Singh Chouhan?

• Born on March 5, 1959, Shivraj Singh Chouhan is a senior chief of the Bharatiya Janata Party. He had joined the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh in 1972 on the age of 13 years.

• He is a five-time member of the Parliament, representing Vidisha constituency within the Lok Sabha between 1991 and 2006.

• He is at the moment a member of the legislative meeting from Budhni constituency of Madhya Pradesh.

• He took over as new Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh following the resignation of incumbent Kamal Nath. This is Chouhan’s fourth time period as CM. 

• He had beforehand served as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh for 3 consecutive phrases from 2005-2008, 2008-2013 and at last from 2013-2018. He was unseated by the Congress within the 2018 elections, nevertheless, just for a short time. 

• Chouhan beforehand served as the overall secretary and president of BJP’s Madhya Pradesh state unit. 


The Kamal Nath-led Congress authorities misplaced its majority in Madhya Pradesh after its senior chief Jyotiraditya Scindia defected from the celebration and 22 MLAs allegedly loyal to him additionally despatched of their resignations. 

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: