Ranji Trophy: Bengal, Delhi share points in rainy Kolkata

Bad mild adopted by 10 minutes of heavy showers disrupted play on the ultimate day because the Ranji Trophy Elite Group-A match between Bengal and Delhi ended in a draw on the Eden Gardens right here on Thursday.

Delhi added 25 runs, punctuated by a break resulting from foggy and overcast circumstances, to its in a single day whole to attain 242 for seven.

The unbeaten pair of Jonty Sidhu, ranging from 49, and Subodh Bhati, resuming from seven, placed on a battle to collect 24 runs off six overs in 25 minutes earlier than the primary stoppage.

As it occurred|
Ranji Trophy Round 7, As it happened: Gujarat, Maharasthra win, Himachal vs Mumbai washed out

Sidhu achieved a deserving half-century and Bhati hit just a few boundaries to boost Delhi’s hope of overhauling Bengal’s first innings whole of 318.

They returned after 33 minutes so as to add a run in one over earlier than returning to the pavilion once more owing to poor visibility.

Eden resembled a pool of water after heavy rains, regardless of the groundsmen working arduous for two-and-a-half hours to dry it up. However, the umpires determined to name off the match as they noticed some moist patches in the outfield throughout an inspection round 3:30 p.m.

Only 16.Three overs may very well be bowled in the final two days resulting from rain and dangerous mild. As the primary innings remained unfinished, each groups bought one level apiece.

“We are playing well and have to win the remaining matches (in Jaipur and Patiala) to reach the knockout stage,” mentioned Bengal’s stand-in skipper Manoj Tiwary.

“We wanted to go for three points, but our boys put up a fight,” mentioned Delhi coach Okay.P. Bhaskar. Delhi will play its subsequent two matches at house.

Bengal, which has performed three rain-affected matches on the Eden this season, slipped to fifth and Delhi to ninth in Group A and B mixed standings.

Abhimanyu again to steer Bengal

Captain Abhimanyu Easwaran, who was on India ‘A’ responsibility in New Zealand, shall be again to steer Bengal in its subsequent two Ranji Trophy clashes.

Bengal will face Rajasthan in Jaipur from February four to 7. It will meet Punjab in Patiala from February 12 to 15. In Abhimanyu’s absence, Manoj Tiwary captained the aspect in the match towards Delhi on the Eden Gardens.

The squad:

Abhimanyu Easwaran (captain), Manoj Tiwary, Anustup Majumdar, Shreevats Goswami (wk), Abhishek Raman, Koushik Ghosh, Kazi Junaid Saifi, Arnab Nandi, Shahbaz Ahmed, Writtick Chatterjee, Shreyan Chakraborty, Nilkantha Das, Akash Deep, Mukesh Kumar, Geet Puri, Raj Kumar Pal.

Source link

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: