Rani Rampal becomes first hockey player in world to win ‘World Games Athlete of the Year’ award

Rani Rampal, captain of Indian ladies’s hockey group, turned the first hockey player in the world to win the prestigious ‘World Games Athlete of the Year’ Award. The World Games introduced the winner on January 31, 2020, after a 20-day voting course of by sports activities lovers round the world.

This award is given for excellent efficiency, social concern, and good habits. People throughout the world choose the winner via voting. She obtained 1,99,477 votes out of a complete of 7,05,610 votes. The Facebook publish of The World Games reads, “Huge congratulations to The World Games Athlete of the Year: Hockey star Rani! Rani won the race with a massive number of votes: 199,477!”

Currently, Rani Rampal is enjoying matches in New Zealand. She devoted this award to the group and nation.  Rani Rampal will obtain the World Games Athlete of the Year award from the official sponsor of The World Games.

Also Read | World Archery conditionally lifts suspension on India

About Rani Rampal

Rani Rampal is a well-known hockey player of India. She is known as the ‘queen’ of Indian hockey. She was the youngest player (15 years) of the Indian hockey group taking part in the 2010 World Cup. Currently, she is the captain of the Indian ladies’s hockey group.

She performed an necessary position in 2009’s Asia Cup to win a silver medal. She was additionally a component of the Indian group throughout the 2010’s Commonwealth Games and the 2010 Asian Games.

This yr, Rani Rampal was awarded the Padma Shri. The Indian ladies’s hockey group gained the Asia Cup in the yr 2017 in her captaincy.

Other winners

Ukrainian karate player Stanislav Horuna secured second and Canadian athlete Rhea Stinn completed third in Powerlifting. A complete of 25 gamers from totally different sports activities have been nominated for this award. Apart from them, Sara Lopez of Columbia secured the eighth place in the Archery. She obtained a complete of 28431 votes. She made a world report for an ideal 15-arrow spherical. She can also be the first girl to shoot good 150 at stage three of the World Cup held in Medellin.

Previous winner

In 2019, the award was obtained by the Russian duo Maria Chernova-Giorgi Pataria, who carried out nicely in acrobatic gymnastics. They obtained a complete of 1,59,348 votes to win the award.

Also Read | Indian weightlifter Sarbjeet Kaur banned for four years for doping

Also Read | BCCI central contract: MS Dhoni left out, Washington Sundar, Mayank Agarwal included

Source link

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: