MS Dhoni ‘will be retained’ by Chennai Super Kings in 2021 too – N Srinivasan

Whether MS Dhoni performs for India once more or not, he’ll play the 2020 version of the IPL for Chennai Super Kings and “will be retained” by the group when he goes into the mega public sale previous to IPL 2021, in keeping with N Srinivasan, the vice-chairman and managing director of India Cements, homeowners of the franchise.

“People keep saying when will he… how long will he play, etc. He will play. I can assure you. He will play this year. Next year he will go the auction; he will be retained. So there is no doubt in anybody’s mind,” Srinivasan mentioned at a latest India Cements occasion.

Dhoni, 38, stays an lively participant, however hasn’t performed for India because the 2019 50-over World Cup, making himself unavailable for choice occasionally in this era too. That has understandably led to a good bit of hypothesis on the wicketkeeper-batsman’s future, particularly with a T20 World Cup developing this 12 months and his alternative Rishabh Pant having an up-and-down run.

ALSO READ: Monga – Dhoni’s situation remains unchanged, with or without a contract

Most just lately, Dhoni was left out of the BCCI’s record of centrally contracted cricketers, suggesting that the board may not be anticipating him to determine in their plans going ahead, although Ravi Shastri, the pinnacle coach of the senior males’s group, said recently that Dhoni would be again in rivalry for a spot in the nationwide group if he did nicely on the IPL.

“If he decides to play, which he’ll as a result of he will play the IPL, then he’ll begin with a really recent thoughts and really clear concepts,” Shastri instructed India Today in an interview. “Then you’ve got to see form. If he has a great IPL and puts himself into contention that ‘I’m available for selection’, then you don’t fool around.”

Dhoni, who led India to the T20 World Cup (2007), 50-over World Cup (2011) and the Champions Trophy (2013) titles, has captained the Super Kings from the inaugural season of the IPL in 2008 – bar the 2 years, in 2016 and 2017, when the group was banned due to the spot-fixing scandal. The group has received three IPL titles below Dhoni, together with being the dropping finalists on 5 events. They additionally received the now-defunct Champions League T20 event twice, in 2010 and 2014.

Source link

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: