India vs New Zealand | Kyle Jamieson Included in NZ ODI Squad, Latham to Make Comeback


Wellington: Kyle Jamieson has been known as into the New Zealand ODI squad for the primary time for the ODIs towards India, whereas Scott Kuggeleijn and Hamish Bennett have been recalled after final taking part in ODIs in Ireland in 2017.

Tom Latham, who broke a finger on his proper hand in the third Test towards Australia, has additionally been cleared to resume taking part in.

But New Zealand can have their bowling shares additional examined after their three main seamers have been dominated out from the squad.

New Zealand’s fortunes have plummeted since making the World Cup remaining final yr, shedding three Tests towards Australia and three Twenty20s towards India.

Pace bowlers Trent Boult (damaged hand), Lockie Ferguson (calf pressure) and Matt Henry (damaged thumb), who have been all injured in Australia, haven’t recovered in time for the three ODIs towards India which begin subsequent week after the ultimate two Twenty20 fixtures.

The collection would be the first ODIs for New Zealand since they beat India in the World Cup semi-finals final yr then misplaced to England in the ultimate, and coach Gary Stead mentioned they have been underneath no illusions concerning the job forward.

“We’ve seen from the Twenty20 series (India) are clearly as strong as ever,” he mentioned.

“Tim Southee has an vital job main our new look tempo assault, which has an enormous alternative towards among the best batsmen in the world.

“While the bowling line-up has a contemporary look, the batting could be very settled and we’ll possible have the identical high eight batsmen from the World Cup finals.”

New Zealand squad:

Kane Williamson (capt), Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tom Latham, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

Source link

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: