Press "Enter" to skip to content

Chennai’s Carnatic musicians plan a live digital concert

Last updated on March 25, 2020


Of course, balcony antakshari is enjoyable. But, similar to in a karaoke bar, there comes a breaking level. And in your neighbour, it could simply be attributable to your 12th efficiency of Prince’s ‘Purple Rain’.

Fortunately, this weekend, you’ll be able to sit again and let the professionals take over. With Covid shutting down live live shows and performances all around the world, singers and musicians are discovering modern methods to attach with listeners and one another.

In Chennai, Carnatic musicians TM Krishna, Akkarai Subhalakshmi, B Sivaraman and N Guruprasad at the moment are placing collectively the ‘Home and the World’, a digital Carnatic live concert. The concert, which will probably be live streamed on March 29 at 7.30 pm IST (10 am EST, 7 am PST, 2 pm GMT), goals to boost funds for artistes who’ve been displaced financially by the Coronavirus pandemic.

“A lot of artistes, from different fields, have had all performances cancelled,” says Krishna, including, “Just in the Carnatic world, it has already led to the cancellation of hundreds of concerts. Theatre productions are being cancelled, dance performances… this is affecting all performing arts.” He provides that the uncertainty across the pandemic signifies that different dates can’t be set both. “Everyone is saying, we will just wait.”

While discussing how they may assist, Krishna, Subhalakshmi, Sivaraman and Guruprasad got here up with the thought of this concert. “Most of the people who work in the performing arts are not economically well off. And with no performances, they will need help to tide over these days.”

The artistes are additionally hoping this can cheer up audiences. “Right now, most people are in isolation at home, across the world. They are pretty much looking at the Internet constantly, getting information on Corona. Audiences also need to relax,” he says, including with a chortle, “This total uncertainty we are going through now is stressful. I sneezed this morning, and got worried!”

While the staff remains to be engaged on the format of the concert, Krishna is evident that they’ll observe all the present social distancing guidelines. “There will be no audience, and only essential people needed for the performance and audio will be present,” he says.

The essential perk of watching remotely? They are taking requests. “Just put it on our social media posts a couple of days ahead.”

Tickets, priced at ₹1,500 every, for #ShutInConcert will probably be obtainable on https://shaale.com/live/TheShutInCarnaticConcert. Purchase of entry entitles you to observe the livestream and on-demand movies for 2 days.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: