Andhra Pradesh Cabinet passes resolution to abolish Legislative Council

The Andhra Pradesh Cabinet handed a resolution on January 27, 2020 that proposes the abolishment of the state Legislative Council.

The proposal will now be taken up for dialogue within the state Legislative Assembly, following which the resolution will probably be despatched to the centre for needed follow-up motion.  The ruling YSR Congress has a minority within the Legislative Council.

The Jagan Mohan Reddy-led social gathering has simply 9 members within the 58-member council, whereas the opposition Telugu Desam Party has a majority in the home with 28 members. YSR Congress could have to wait until 2021 to get a majority in the home.

Why does AP authorities need to abolish the Legislative Council?

The proposal to abolish the legislative council has been adopted by the Andhra Pradesh Cabinet beneath the chairmanship of Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy. The transfer got here after Reddy’s authorities failed to cross two essential payments within the higher home of the legislature. The payments have been associated to the federal government’s plan of getting three different capitals for the state- Legislative, judicial and executive capitals.

What is the Legislative Council?

The Legislative Council is the higher home within the state legislature. Similar to the Rajya Sabha, the council is a everlasting home, which implies that it can’t be dissolved. Only the state legislative meeting could be dissolved.

How can the state legislative council be abolished?

The Parliament is the only authority that may present for the abolishment of a state legislative council or creation of a council in a state that has no council until now. The Parliament can cross the regulation if the state legislative meeting passes a resolution proposing the abolishment of the council by a majority of the overall membership of the meeting and by a majority of not lower than two-thirds of members current and voting.

Which state was the primary to abolish the state legislative council?

Assam was the primary state to abolish its state legislative council. The state handed a resolution for a similar in 1947.

How many states have abolished the legislative council?

After Assam, West Bengal had abolished its legislative council in 1969 and Punjab abolished it in 1970. The state legislative council of Andhra Pradesh was additionally abolished beforehand in 1985 and was revived once more in 2006.

States that abolished Legislative Council

Assam Legislative Council 


West Bengal Legislative Council 


Punjab Legislative Council 


Tamil Nadu Legislative Council 


Jammu and Kashmir 



Source link

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: